FAQ  Search  Memberlist  Usergroups  Profile  Log in to check your private messagesLog in   Register

Euphoria Released Forum Index
Post new topic    Reply to topic
Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
   Euphoria Released Forum Index -> Public -> Got a question for you video-dudes
retzki
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 12:51 pm  Reply with quote
Cov Ops Hunter


Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 295

Allright I want to make some cool eve-videos, and get my hands dirty on video-editing while at it. But I am a noob so before I go out and buy hardware, here's my plan.

My gaming-machine got a radeon x1600 which has a s-video output. So I would get myself a s-video-capturing card (tv-card, blabla) for another machine, connect, get some recording software and record eve on another machine. Thus don't cripple my gaming performance, as I don't have to start things like fraps or alike (which don't work on highres anyway for me, as I am an unlucky single-core amd64 user).

Several questions/point of failures come to my mind:

- radeon x1600 may not be able to output directX-stuff on both VGA and S-Video output (whyever). Possible fix: My machine is cross-fire-able which essentially uses two graphics cards as one. Maybe one can output in vga, one in s-video?
- resolution may suck. Dunno but I read somewhere PAL is just 512x480 or somesuch?



So, anyone of you knows if that works? ^^
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dellie
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 2:00 pm  Reply with quote
Site Owner


Joined: 18 Nov 2005
Posts: 55013
Location: Netherlands

dont...
i tried it...

final product gives a shitty resolutions at about 1 frame per minute...
my advise:

i you have a socket am2 or 939 mainboard..
invest 100 bucks in a dualcore cpu.. they are not that expensive anymore..
and oh boy.. 1600x1200 full screen fraps with everything on is such a beauty Very Happy

-x-

dellie
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
retzki
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 2:54 pm  Reply with quote
Cov Ops Hunter


Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 295

Dellie wrote:
dont...
i tried it...

final product gives a shitty resolutions at about 1 frame per minute...
my advise:

i you have a socket am2 or 939 mainboard..
invest 100 bucks in a dualcore cpu.. they are not that expensive anymore..
and oh boy.. 1600x1200 full screen fraps with everything on is such a beauty :D

-x-

dellie



Cheers mate.


Heh yeah I think it's an AM2, getting a dualcore cpu helps me in several aspects. To the online-store, Robin!

Gotta find a solution for the sound though, do want evesound + vent. Might just use the 2nd box for that
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yaevep
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 3:00 pm  Reply with quote
Forum Spammer


Joined: 06 Sep 2005
Posts: 1161

Doesnt fraps record at half the res at everything over 1152x or 1280 not sure which it is? So frapsing at higher res than that actually give you shittier quality?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dellie
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 3:05 pm  Reply with quote
Site Owner


Joined: 18 Nov 2005
Posts: 55013
Location: Netherlands

Yaevep wrote:
Doesnt fraps record at half the res at everything over 1152x or 1280 not sure which it is? So frapsing at higher res than that actually give you shittier quality?


latest fraps lets you record up to 1920x1080 IF you have dual core.. Smile

/me pets his X2 6000+
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
retzki
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 3:09 pm  Reply with quote
Cov Ops Hunter


Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 295

Dellie wrote:
Yaevep wrote:
Doesnt fraps record at half the res at everything over 1152x or 1280 not sure which it is? So frapsing at higher res than that actually give you shittier quality?


latest fraps lets you record up to 1920x1080 IF you have dual core.. :)

/me pets his X2 6000+


Yeah it just puts itsself into the second core or something. Btw, if I got this core-thing completely right this should have no impact on eve-performance at all, true? So eve in core 1, fraps in core 2, everything feels as usual.


Ignoring harddisk speed of course, because fraps needs a shiny bit of space for the captured data :) - how did you or actually did you have to solve that dellie? I thought of just get a second disk for fraps only..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dellie
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 3:26 pm  Reply with quote
Site Owner


Joined: 18 Nov 2005
Posts: 55013
Location: Netherlands

retzki wrote:
Yeah it just puts itsself into the second core or something. Btw, if I got this core-thing completely right this should have no impact on eve-performance at all, true? So eve in core 1, fraps in core 2, everything feels as usual.


Ignoring harddisk speed of course, because fraps needs a shiny bit of space for the captured data Smile - how did you or actually did you have to solve that dellie? I thought of just get a second disk for fraps only..


i had some performance issues with the disk indeed..
i just bought 5 250 gb harddisk and put them in raid 5...
now i have 1 TB or diskspace that responds rather sexy Very Happy
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Squize
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 3:37 pm  Reply with quote
Carrier Pilot


Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 362
Location: Denmark

Dellie wrote:
retzki wrote:
Yeah it just puts itsself into the second core or something. Btw, if I got this core-thing completely right this should have no impact on eve-performance at all, true? So eve in core 1, fraps in core 2, everything feels as usual.


Ignoring harddisk speed of course, because fraps needs a shiny bit of space for the captured data Smile - how did you or actually did you have to solve that dellie? I thought of just get a second disk for fraps only..


i had some performance issues with the disk indeed..
i just bought 5 250 gb harddisk and put them in raid 5...
now i have 1 TB or diskspace that responds rather sexy Very Happy


You could like dellie, or buy an WD raptor drive for the fraps.
But most importantly is to put the extra disk on another controller, ofc. raid, either 0, 5 or 10 is prefferable
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
retzki
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 3:56 pm  Reply with quote
Cov Ops Hunter


Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 295

Got some old PATA pci-controller which can do Raid 1,0, dunno about 5 and 10/01. And like 2-3 spare 80 GB ones. Might just try those. Should be the only PCI-peripheral actually, onboard-* ftw.



Oh, and what software do you use for editing? I played with virtualdub (I think that's the name) and didn't quite get it. I imagined some kind of 'timeline' where I can do the cut/paste stuff to snip off the 10 mins sitting at the gate/looting stuff ^^
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dellie
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 4:08 pm  Reply with quote
Site Owner


Joined: 18 Nov 2005
Posts: 55013
Location: Netherlands

retzki wrote:
Got some old PATA pci-controller which can do Raid 1,0, dunno about 5 and 10/01. And like 2-3 spare 80 GB ones. Might just try those. Should be the only PCI-peripheral actually, onboard-* ftw.



Oh, and what software do you use for editing? I played with virtualdub (I think that's the name) and didn't quite get it. I imagined some kind of 'timeline' where I can do the cut/paste stuff to snip off the 10 mins sitting at the gate/looting stuff ^^


I personally use Sony Vegas..
And.. you dont want to constantly record fraps in a high resolution..
The fight last week in BWF lasted about 10-15 minutes.. i have complete fraps of it.. 14 gigs...
So dont fraps a 2 hours gatecamp.. that might blow up your drives Very Happy

For results from Sony Vegas check this:
http://dl.eve-files.com/media/corp/dellie/Rampage.wmv

and the trailer of my new upcoming DWA movie:
http://dl.eve-files.com/media/corp/dellie/Butterfly_Effect_Trailer.wmv
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dPet
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 6:47 pm  Reply with quote
Carrier Pilot


Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Posts: 348
Location: Fucking Jutland, Denmark

What color is it ? Shocked
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dellie
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:35 pm  Reply with quote
Site Owner


Joined: 18 Nov 2005
Posts: 55013
Location: Netherlands

dPet wrote:
What color is it ? Shocked


eh? Confused
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dPet
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:13 pm  Reply with quote
Carrier Pilot


Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Posts: 348
Location: Fucking Jutland, Denmark

Thats the question ma biatch ask me everytime she dont get what I'm talking about Exclamation
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nathrezim
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:31 pm  Reply with quote
God Himself


Joined: 01 Dec 2005
Posts: 2660
Location: In Morgs basement

lol dpet
and dellie, stop playing those random games you got recently and finish the movie
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Dellie
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:40 pm  Reply with quote
Site Owner


Joined: 18 Nov 2005
Posts: 55013
Location: Netherlands

Nathrezim wrote:
lol dpet
and dellie, stop playing those random games you got recently and finish the movie


no... fuck you...
ill play these games once.. then im done with and can get back to eve and movie-making again Very Happy
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
All times are GMT + 1 Hour

View next topic
View previous topic
Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Euphoria Released Forum Index -> Public

Post new topic   Reply to topic


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum





Site contact: dellie